American School of Paris - Student Life - MS Extracurricular

Co-Curricular Activities and Clubs in the Middle School

The American School of Paris offers a wide range of enriching experiences for your children in the Middle School. Each activity is designed to nurture and intrigue students as they discover their interests and talents. For more details and information click on the panels below.

Art Club

Faculty supervisor: Ana Wier (aweir@asparis.fr).

Chess Club*

(Grades 6-8) Chess Club is a paid club, please contact ASP for more information on pricing. 

ASP had a tremendous debut! And this year, we have made it even more appealing for MS students to come out and play, and learn, and dream of become a master. Come join us on Mondays for new strategies and great action . . . Checkmate!

Fashion Drawing and Design*

(Grades 6-8) Fashion Drawing and Design is a paid club, please contact ASP for more information on pricing. 

Here in the capital city of Paris, we breathe fashion and design! Young passionate designers will learn the basics of fashion rendering and illustration, including figure proportions, shading, and style details to create an individual portfolio. Then, the final project includes dressing a 3D model with a variety of materials to create a unique line of clothing. You will also learn basic hand sewing techniques (but no sewing machines will be used). Sessions are in English.

Humanities Lab

Humanities Lab offers a 1.5 hour open session where students in Grades 6, 7, and 8 can receive support for social studies, English, science, or other classes as needed. Interventions might include help with projects, homework support, preparation for tests, or guidance with "stretch" or enrichment programs. Faculty supervisors: Wendy Quick, (wquick@asparis.fr), and Mr. Titterington (ttitterington@asparis.fr).

Interactive Design

Interactive Design Club is an opportunity for students to explore creative applications of coding, electronics, and digital fabrication technology. It is a drop-in club, open to Middle and Upper School students. However, students are encouraged to come consistently to work on a project that they can share with the School community at the end of the year. Faculty supervisor: Mr. Santiago (jsantiago@asparis.fr).

MATHCOUNTS

MathCounts offers a 1.25 hour session where students in Grades 6, 7, and 8 can explore math. Students build problem solving skills and foster achievement through four levels of fun, interactive math problems. At MathCounts, learning math is fun and relevant! Faculty supervisor: Tara Linney (tlinney@asparis.fr).

Math Lab

Math Lab offers a 1.5 hour open session where students in Grades 6, 7, and 8 can receive support or remediation in math. Interventions might include help with projects, homework support, preparation for tests, or guidance with "stretch" or enrichment programs. Faculty supervisors: Barbara Trudeau (btrudeau@asparis.fr) and Kirsten Love (klove@asparis.fr).

Model United Nations

MUN is open to all students in Grades 6, 7, and 8. The aim is to discuss world issues, learn how to debate, compromise and collaborate. The Club models the debate format and procedures of the United Nations and the topics up for debate are the same as those in the UN. Students participate in at least two conferences in Europe and we host a global MUN conference at ASP in March. Faculty supervisors: Andrea Johnston (ajohnston@asparis.fr), Tina Bui (tbui@asparis.fr), Filipa Pavic (fpavic@asparis.fr).

Robotics

Faculty supervisor: Ron Schildge (rschildge@asparis.fr).

Role Playing Games

Faculty supervisor: Adam Klempa (aklempa@asparis.fr).

Student Voice

Student Voice is a club where students have the opportunity to help create positive change at ASP and in our local and global communities. There are many options for students to choose from - such as helping to organize canned food drives, working to support underpriviledged families in France, or a School that we partner with in India, walkathons, etc. Faculty supervisors: Lara Bailly (lbailly@asparis.fr), Anthony Suzzi Valli (asuzzivalli@asparis.fr).

Tennis Club*

(Grades 6-8) Tennis Club is a paid club, please contact ASP for more information on pricing. 

France is home to the lovely clay courts, and tennis is one of its most popular sports and certainly a central cultural experience for many French students. Students will take lessons in FRENCH with instructors from Players Tennis Academy (off-campus and transportation is provided to and from the courts) and all levels are welcome. The focus is on developing all skills involved in this beautiful game. Students must have their own tennis shoes and rackets to participate. Sessions are in French.

Yearbook

Faculty supervisor: Mr. Wright (dwright@asparis.fr).

For more information on Athletics, click here.

If you are current member of the ASP community, and are interested in signing up for a Co-Curricular activity please refer to the Parent Portal for full schedules and sign up information.